Public Universities

Putra University Malaysia (UPM)

International Islamic University Malaysia (IIUM)

University of Malaya (UM)

University of Malaysia, Sarawak (UNIMAS)

Sabah University of Malaysia (UMS)

National University of Malaysia (UKM)

Technological University of Malaysia (UTM)

University Tun Hussein Onn Malaysia (UTHM)

Northern University of Malaysia (UUM)

Science University of Malaysia (USM)

Technical University of Malaysia Malacca (UTeM)

University Malaysia Pahang (UMP)

Sultan Idris University of Education (UPSI)

Sabah University of Malaysia (UMS)


Universiti Malaysia Sabah (UMS) or Sabah University of Malaysia which is located in Kota Kinabalu, Sabah is Malaysia’s ninth public university. It is an institution that gives a high priority on its research initiative. This is along with the school’s mission to be recognized internationally as a premier university.

Courses offered

UMS currently offers undergraduate and postgraduate programs under 13 schools: School of Social Sciences, School of Science and Technology, School of Psychology and Social Work, School of Engineering and Information Technology, School of Food Science and Nutrition, School of International Tropical Forestry, School of Business and Economics, School of Education and Social Development, School of Art Studies, School of Medicine, School of Sustainable Agriculture, Labuan School of International Business and Finance, Labuan School of Informatics Science, Centre for the Promotion of Knowledge and Language Learning, and Centre for Co curriculum and Student Development.


All the units of the academe are involved in either basic or applied research programs. The projects are either funded by the school itself, or get support from the government and international institutions. UMS takes pride in having 9 research units. These are: Tropical Biology and Conservation Research Institute, in which the studies are focused on freshwater ecosystem; Biotechnology Research Institute, which caters to researches on biological sciences; Borneo Marine Research Institute, which studies marine life and aquaculture; Ethnographic and Development Research Unit, which deals with ethnographic research; Psychology and Social Health Research Unit, which focuses on social health; Centre for Natural Disasters Studies, which studies the incidence of natural disasters; Centre for Research and Entrepreneurial Development, which deals with entrepreneurship research; Centre for Remote Sensing and GIS, which deals with the study of nature and its protection; and Centre for Rural Education and Development, which focuses not only in the research of rural communities but also in its development.

UMS’s Centre for Management of Research & Conference is tasked to oversee all the university’s research initiatives.

Email Address Name

Add some images first for Slideshow:4

Nas Noor Sdn Bhd © 2012

Home - Services - About Us - Contact Us - Privacy - عربي